Was ist ECHO?

ECHO ist ein Forschungs- und Innovationsprojekt, das von der Europäischen Union im Rahmen des Programms Horizon Europe gefördert wird. Das Projekt ist auf 4 Jahre angelegt - von Juni 2023 bis Mai 2027.

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, Bürger:innen in den Schutz und die Wiederherstellung der europäischen Böden einzubinden, indem sie ihre Fähigkeiten ausbauen und ihr Wissen erweitern. Die Bürger:innen werden aktiv zur Datenerhebung im Rahmen des Projekts beitragen, den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Böden fördern und Verhaltensänderungen in der gesamten EU fördern.

Das ECHOREPO, ein langfristig offen zugänglicher Speicher mit direkter Verbindung zum EUSO, wird die im Projekt erhobenen Daten nicht nur Wissenschaftler:innen, sondern auch der breiten Öffentlichkeit, politischen Entscheidungsträger:innen, Landwirt:innen, Landeigentümer:innen und anderen Endnutzer:innen zur Verfügung stellen und so einen Mehrwert für bestehende Daten und andere einschlägige Bodenüberwachungsinitiativen schaffen. ECHOREPO wird wertvolle Informationen über den Zustand der Bodengesundheit in verschiedenen Regionen liefern und helfen, fundierte Entscheidungen über Landnutzung und -erhaltung zu treffen.

Mit 16 Partnern aus ganz Europa, darunter 10 führende Universitäten und Forschungszentren, 4 kleine bzw. mittlere Unternehmen, wird ECHO unter der Koordination der Freien Universität Bozen 16 500 Standorte in verschiedenen klimatischen und biogeografischen Regionen bewerten, um die ehrgeizigen Ziele zu erreichen.

Zielsetzungen

ECHO Nachrichten

ECHO in Vienna

Last week, the 5th European Citizen Science Association conference took place in beautiful Vienna. The topic of this year’s conference was CHANGE, because, as the organizers themselves explain, “we are in a time

READ MORE »

ECHO at the 10th MCAA Conference

Last weekend, members of the Marie Curie Alumni Association met in Milan to commemorate the tenth anniversary of their organization. The MCAA brings together scholars on different career paths, united by the fact

READ MORE »

Partner

ECHO vereint 16 Partnern aus ganz Europa, darunter führende Universitäten, Forschungszentren, KMU und Stiftungen.

Aktivitäten und Tools

ECHO Outcomes

0
Jahre, von 2023 bis 2027
0
Partner aus ganz Europa
0
maßgeschneiderte Citizen-Science Initiativen
0
bewertete Standorte

Warum ist ECHO wichtig?

Der Boden ist eine lebenswichtige, aber oft vernachlässigte Ressource, die das Leben auf der Erde unterstützt, indem sie die Grundlage für Landwirtschaft, Wälder und verschiedene andere natürliche Ökosysteme bildet. Die Verschlechterung der Bodenqualität ist jedoch weltweit ein wachsendes Problem, was schwerwiegende Folgen für unseren Planeten haben kann, z. B. geringere Ernteerträge, höhere Treibhausgasemissionen und eine geringere Artenvielfalt.

Im Rahmen der Mission "Soil Deal for Europe" wird daher der dringender Bedarf an Forschung und Innovation zum Schutz und zur Wiederherstellung der Bodengesundheit durch nachhaltige Interventionen anerkannt. Um dieses ehrgeizige Ziel zu erreichen, sind Wissen und Bewusstsein über die Bedeutung der langfristigen Bodengesundheit, ihren Wert und ihre Herausforderungen erforderlich. Durch eine europaweite Zusammenarbeit will die Mission den Übergang zu gesunden Böden bis 2030 schaffen.

Einbindung der Zivilgesellschaft in die Bodenkunde: der Weg zu gesünderen Böden

Setzen Sie ein Lesezeichen auf diese Website oder folgen Sie uns in den sozialen Medien, um über die Entwicklung des Projekts ECHO auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben.

What is ECHO?

ECHO is a Research and Innovation Action co-funded by the European Union under the Horizon Europe programme, and UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). It will last 4 years – from June 2023 to May 2027.

The project aims to engage citizens in protecting and restoring soils by building their skills and enhancing their knowledge on soils. Citizens will actively contribute to the project’s data collection, promote soil stewardship, and foster behavioural change across the EU.

ECHOREPO, a long-term open access repository with a direct link to the EU Soil Observatory, will enable the citizen science data collected during ECHO to be available for use not only by scientists, but also by the general public, policy makers, farmers, landowners and other end-users, providing added value to existing data and other relevant soil monitoring initiatives. ECHOREPO will provide valuable information about the state of soil health across EU Member States, helping citizens make informed decisions about land use and conservation.

With 16 partners from Europe and Scotland, including 10 leading universities and research organisations, 4 SMEs and 2 Foundations, under the coordination of the Free University of Bolzano-Bozen, ECHO aims to collect data from up to 16,500 sites across Europe and Scotland in different climate and biogeographic regions.

ECHO Objectives

ECHO News

ECHO at Nati00ns in Rome

On 13 May 2024, the national event on the Soil Mission of the European Union – “100 Living Labs and Lighthouses for Soil Health – Funding Opportunities 2024” was held in Rome. The

READ MORE »

ECHO Partners

ECHO is a shared effort of 16 partners from all over Europe and Scotland, including leading universities, research centres, SMEs, and foundations.

ECHO Activities and Tools

ECHO Outcomes

years, from 2023 to 2027
0
partners from all over Europe
0
tailor-made citizen science initiatives
0
sites assessed
0

Why is ECHO important?

While often overlooked, soil is the cornerstone of life on Earth. Soil plays a crucial role in regulating our planet’s health and provides multiple benefits to society. However, this essential resource is under a range of threats including a changing climate, erosion, and a loss of fertility with consequences that include reduced crop yields, increased greenhouse gas emissions, and biodiversity loss.

The “Soil Deal for Europe” Mission recognises the urgent need for research and innovation to protect and restore soil health via sustainable interventions. Achieving this ambitious goal requires knowledge and awareness of the importance of long-term soil health and the the value of soil to society. Through cooperation across Europe, the Mission aims to accomplish the transition towards healthy soils by 2030.

Engaging citizens in soil science: the road to healthier soils.

Bookmark this website or follow us on social media to stay updated on ECHO as the project develops.